What Keeps You Up at Night?

I know I’m not the only one who lies awake for what seems like an eternity before falling asleep every night. Of course this is the only time all day that my mind absolutely refuses to stop running. I love sleep just as much as the next person, yet this restlessness occurs without fail as soon as I get into bed (as if a magical switch in my brain has suddenly been turned on). If you have experienced this before, you know exactly the frustration I am talking about. In order to make adequate sleep a possibility, we must learn to control these mile-a-minute thoughts that could not appear at a worse time.

I have discovered a few ways to cope with this chaos, or shall I say, calm my imagination. First, it is important to acknowledge my thoughts, or think about what is keeping me up. Is it the huge Finance exam I have tomorrow, or am I too busy counting down the days until Spring Break? Once I have an idea of what these things are, I write them down. This way, I won’t forget about them, I’ll just push them off until later (something I’m sure we’ve all perfected by now). I also try a calming activity such as reading. I pick up my favorite book, one that I already know the ending to, and read for a little. This is another method that helps me calm my over-active mind and have an easier time falling asleep.

Natasha Sankalia

About BentleyWritingCenter

This is the official blog of the Bentley University Writing Center staff.
This entry was posted in Natasha Sankalia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

