Writing is Hard Work

“It’s none of their business that you have to learn to write. Let them think you were born that way.”

~Ernest Hemingway

Writing is hard.  It’s a craft that requires copious background knowledge, a thorough understanding of language, the ability to logically lay out ideas in a given language, and enough creativity to build something that’s worth reading.  Our tutors weigh in on what they find hardest about writing.

Ciarah:  The hardest thing about writing is trying to focus my thoughts into one coherent string of words. All at once, when posed a question, a ton of things pop into my head. Deciphering which are the most important, or which ones answer the question, is the most difficult thing for me.

Elena:  Beginning my paper. The first sentence is always the hardest because I want to start it off strong, but thinking of something creative or clever takes a while.

Dan:  Writing dialogue creatively—characterization, time, and setting can make things tricky.

Nicole:  Most of the time I have trouble getting started with my essays.

Katie:  Getting started, especially for research papers. I will spend hours researching, but there is definitely something intimidating about a blank page. I’m usually ok once I get started, though!

Tammie:  The hardest thing about writing is starting, sticking to it, and finishing.  Lately, I’ve had a hard time coming up with ideas that I want to write about, and I’ve always struggled with sticking to a certain story idea and finishing that story.

Phillip:  The hardest thing about writing is being honest or writing exactly what I want to write.  This may not apply for academic papers, but for songwriting it definitely does.  I started writing songs when I was fifteen.  I remember writing lyrics that were just, well, disgusting because I wasn’t being true to myself or tapping in to my emotions.  I would write about love that I never experienced or things that were so fake.  Recently, I’ve let my guard down and stopped thinking about how other people would hear my songs and just wrote them.  My songs are now a whole lot less disgusting.  I’ve found a lot of peace through songwriting, and I have been able to discover a lot about myself.

What’s the hardest thing about writing for you?  Weigh in through the comments below!

This entry was posted in Question Series and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

