How Do YOU Express Yourself?

For as long as I can remember, I have loved to draw and paint. Whether it means doodling in my notebook or creating an acrylic masterpiece on canvas, the sensation is the same. I like to let my hand flow, free to create and erase as I please. At first, I thought of this simply as a hobby. It was not until later that I realized it is much more than that. Painting is my preferred method of expression. Once something triggers my desire to create, I cannot put my pencil or paintbrush down. It is all I can think about until my newest endeavor is complete.

I like to view painting as my escape. I don’t create for the attention it captures, and I certainly don’t create based on what others would like to see. I create for myself, trusting that the final product will accurately reflect my personality and interests. I create to momentarily escape the worries in my head, to relax through this unusual yet effective form of cleansing. My painting doesn’t represent a particular style, and no two of my pieces are ever the same. The results of my creative escapades fill the walls of my room, adding a sense of identity to my own safe haven. What matters is that I have found an outlet to express myself in a way that portrays who I am, and for that I am lucky.

So here begins my challenge to you: find your creative outlet. We all carry this individuality in some shape or form, even though we may not always be aware of it. Maybe you are a dancer, a musician, an athlete, a writer – the list goes on. Whatever it is, embrace it. This is what makes you YOU.

The next time you are having a bad day or just feel inspired, take the time to immerse yourself in expression. You can go for a run or rant in your journal. It’s not so much about what you do, but how you do it. No matter the possibilities, the end goal is the same.

About BentleyWritingCenter

This is the official blog of the Bentley University Writing Center staff.
This entry was posted in Natasha Sankalia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

